Veterinary technicians learn the skills and gain the knowledge they need to get started while in veterinary technician programs, but there are many things that can be learned only on the job. 101 Veterinary Technician Questions Answered provides an insight into that kind of knowledge. For this book, the author asked veterinary technicians to relate their most pressing veterinary technology questions. Next, experienced veterinary technicians working in the field were recruited to answer these questions-truly making this a tool for technicians by technicians. Their answers include tips that technicians can implement immediately to start making their jobs easier and more rewarding. This handy book also includes resource referrals so the reader can learn more about topics central to the field. 101 Veterinary Technician Questions Answered is ideal for entry-level technicians, and even seasoned professionals will learn something new.
Veterinary technicians face difficult situations on a daily basis. They dedicate their lives to aiding in the treatment of animals and relieving suffering, serving as each patient's main advocate and caretaker. The veterinary technician holds a unique role in patient care. Acting as the intermediary between the veterinarian prescribing treatment and the patient, they play a large part in the communication and education of clients. Veterinary technicians have greatly expanded their roles and find themselves not only an integral part of veterinary practice, but in research institutions, animal shelters, and universities as well.This text explores difficult situations veterinary technicians face on a daily basis through the use of case examples and dialogue. Each case scenario describes a real-life situation for a veterinary technician, poses thought-provoking questions, and provides commentary that focuses on the legal aspect of the scenario, the social or personal ethics of the parties involved, and/or the welfare of the animal (s). The case scenarios encompass clinical situations in a practice setting as well as situations involving business ethics and interpersonal relationships between colleagues.The case format of the book lends itself to discussion and can be utilized in veterinary technology courses that focus on ethics, communications, management, and leadership. The real-life case examples make the book an enjoyable read for practicing veterinary technicians as well. There currently are over two hundred veterinary technology programs and thousands of practicing veterinary technicians within the United States and Canada.
With developments in skills and knowledge level, more and more academic rigour is expected of veterinary nurses. Exams, CPD and repeated testing and study throughout the nurse's career are now requirements. Aimed at veterinary nurses and technicians, this book will guide the reader through the various research and study disciplines required of them. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses discusses why these academic skills are now required of the veterinary nurse, different types of source material, how to complete written assignments, how to reference properly, how to approach different test questions, how to respond to oral exams, how to complete OSCEs, CPD training, and work-based practical assessments. Research and Study Skills for Veterinary Nurses provides information and advice for student vet nurses who need a reliable resource to guide them through their course.
Good communication skills provide better clinical outcomes and help avoid minor as well as major mistakes. Approximately 60-80% of negligence claims against vets are related to poor communication, with new graduates especially vulnerable. Communication skills are a growing part of the curriculum in veterinary schools, recognising how fundamental clear communication is to good practice. A Guide to Oral Communication in Veterinary Medicine covers why communication skills are important, the structure of typical communications and suggested approaches, veterinary specific communication pathways, and sample scripts between vet and client. Scenarios covered include everyday communication, dealing with challenging situations, different species, different settings, and communication within the veterinary team. The aim is to instill confidence and competence, build professionalism, and avoid problems. Most current teaching is based on a toolbox approach developed from the human medicine model. However, there is no set standard for teaching methodology, which is why this is primarily a book for students, but also includes a section for educators to provide guidance in this nascent subject.
Recognize and treat the parasites seen in veterinary practice! Diagnostic Parasitology for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition features clear and concise discussions of the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites. Chapters are organized by parasite group - including nematodes, cestodes, trematodes, protozoans, arthropods, and leeches - and include a detailed description of the group, with special emphasis on morphology, life cycle, and important parasites. Then in each chapter, material is conveniently organized by host species: dogs, cats, horses, ruminants, swine, birds, lab animals, fish, and reptiles. Written by noted educators Charles Hendrix and Ed Robinson, this full-color, spiral-bound book provides the knowledge that veterinary technicians need to collect samples, perform lab procedures, and communicate with clients and other members of the veterinary team. Clear, concise coverage simplifies information on the most commonly encountered internal and external parasites, preparing you for credentialing exams and the veterinary clinic. More than 470 full-color photos show exactly what ova, adult parasites, and parasitic diseases look like, so you can identify them more easily when viewing lab samples. Step-by-step guidelines in the Laboratory Procedures chapter describe how to gather samples and how to perform the laboratory techniques used in identifying parasites. Emphasis on the zoonotic potential of parasites helps you alert clients and other health care workers to the significance of zoonotic parasites and shows ways in which you can prevent transmission of a zoonotic parasite, condition, or syndrome from animals to humans. Logical chapter organization follows the sequence of parasitology classes, beginning with a basic overview of external parasites, internal parasites, and nematodes, followed by chapters that go into detail of the parasites by host species. An appendix lists the parasites of each species and shows their location in the text, making information easy to find. Heartworm section helps you recognize and treat heartworms with an in-depth discussion of the performance and interpretation of diagnostic tests for this major parasite. Summary tables show how to categorize parasites, and include such categories as body systems affected, taxonomic grouping, host species, and location in host. Table of parasites at the front of the book is arranged by host species and includes page numbers for cross-reference throughout the book. Vet Tech Threads design makes learning easier with chapter outlines, chapter objectives, key terms, and Technician Notes in every chapter. Chapter on terminology familiarizes you with the basic language and classification scheme of parasitology for more effective communication with clients and colleagues. Flash cards on the Evolve companion website help you learn and memorize key facts about the major parasites, including audio pronunciations. Workbook/textbook format provides immediate review tools through matching exercises and questions for thought and discussion at the end of each chapter. NEW case studies provide more opportunities to apply what you have learned, and bring to life a subject that can be dry and difficult. UPDATED information throughout provides the most up-to-date coverage of the parasites most often seen in veterinary practice. NEW! End-of-chapter matching exercises and online activities make study and review easier.
Veterinary Toxicology, 2nd Edition, is a unique single reference that teaches the basic principles of veterinary toxicology and builds upon these principles to offer an essential clinical resource for those practicing in the field. This new edition brings together insights from qualified and well-experienced authorities across all areas of veterinary toxicology to provide an authoritative and in-depth look at all facets of veterinary toxicology, including target organ toxicity, melamine and cyanuric acid, toxicogenomics, chemical terrorism and nanoparticles. While most comparable texts are primarily directed toward the field of human toxicology, this is the one text needed to thoroughly prepare future veterinarians on the newest approaches for diagnosing poisoning cases in all animals from chemicals and plants of a diverse nature as a result of inadvertent, accidental, or malicious intents. It is thoroughly updated with new chapters and the latest coverage of topics not tackled in any previous books such as target organ toxicity, radiation and radioactive materials, FDA regulatory issues, and ethics in veterinary toxicology. There are also expanded discussions on international topics such as epidemiology of animal poisonings and regulatory guidelines and poisonous plants in Europe. Problem solving strategies are offered for treatment. This volume will be of interest to practitioners, professors and students of veterinary medicine and veterinary toxicology, poison control centers, marine biologists, environmentalists and animal scientists.
This full color atlas of veterinary histology images with accompanying text covers domestic mammals and birds. It provides a peerless collection of diagrams, schematics, color micrographs, and electron microscope images, plus online access to a further 900 color images. The author presents information from both a structural and functional perspective. This applied approach highlights the importance of understanding histology as a basis for identifying disease. Translated from the German edition, Veterinary Histology of Domestic Mammals and Birds, 5th Edition is an excellent atlas for veterinary students and veterinary school libraries.
Physical Rehabilitation for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides a comprehensive, illustrated guide to all practical aspects of veterinary physical rehabilitation for veterinary technicians and nurses. Provides a comprehensive introduction to physical rehabilitation for veterinary technicians and nurses Offers a thorough grounding in the knowledge and skills needed to become a valued member of a veterinary rehabilitation team Features contributions from leading practitioners from across the United States sharing their knowledge and expertise on all aspects of veterinary physical rehabilitation Presents practical tips, tricks and advice to meet common challenges faced by rehabilitation technicians Covers pain management, hands-on therapy, therapeutic exercises, patient motivation, troubleshooting, and more
The classical veterinary education revolves around the anatomy, physiology, diseases and their treatment of the bovine, avian, equine, swine species and the assorted small animals. This book discusses the reasoning of both the veterinary profession in its medical care, innovation and scientific logic and also the tools and laws of the business world which cannot be ignored, if a veterinary practice shall survive. It is the reasonable synthesis of both, which eventually leads to profound business success and a medical reputation of excellence.