Skip to Main Content

Nursing: Nursing

New Nursing eBooks in the Collection

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing Textbook

A Guide to Mastery in Clinical Nursing

Designed for both new registered nurses and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the only resource to provide essential information on more than 300 topics from 11 specialty areas. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today. Key leaders in clinical content areas authored content on emergency and critical care, geriatric nursing, health systems and health promotion, medical surgical nursing, neonatal nursing, nurse anesthesia, obstetrics and women’s health, palliative care, perioperative nursing, pediatric nursing, and psychiatric mental health nursing.

Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing Textbook

Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing

This guide explains everything you need to know to successfully implement evidence-based practice (EBP). Carefully progressing from the fundamental facts to full application, the book tells you exactly what EBP is, and describes how to:

  • Create a culture of EBP
  • Use journal clubs
  • Answer questions with nursing research
  • Relate EBP and nursing research to your journey to designation

Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Critical and Emergency Care Nursing Textbook

Handbook of Clinical Nursing: Critical and Emergency Care Nursing

Designed for recently graduated RNs and nurses transitioning to a new clinical area, this extensive clinical reference is the best resource to provide essential information on the critical care and emergency care specialty areas. Concise and practical entries provide fundamental coverage of the most common clinical problems and issues encountered in nursing practice today.

Health Professionals' Education in the Age of Clinical Information Systems, Mobile Computing and Social Networks Textbook

Health Professionals' Education in the Age of Clinical Information Systems, Mobile Computing and Social Networks

This book is divided in three parts: "the changing landscape of information and communication technology in health care", in which it discusses how information and communication technology is transforming health care and the implications of these changes for health professions education; "experiences from the field", with real-life examples of health professionals’ education in and for the digital era; and "evaluation of students and programs", addressing the use of technology to assess learners as well as the complexity of evaluating programs to enhance competence in an information technology-rich health care world

Shared Trauma, Shared Resilience During a Pandemic Textbook

Shared Trauma, Shared Resilience During a Pandemic

This contributed volume reflects on the collective wisdom and ongoing efforts of the social work profession that has been in the forefront of the global pandemic of COVID-19. The contributors are seasoned social work academics, practitioners, administrators, and researchers. Working on the frontlines with patients and families, these social workers have garnered experiences and insights, and also have developed innovative ways to mitigate the impact of the coronavirus on the psychosocial well-being of their clients and themselves.

Program Locations

  • Florida Parishes Campus
  • Hammond Area Campus
  • Sullivan Campus (Bogalusa)
  • Lacombe Campus (Spring 2020)
  • Livingston Campus (Spring 2020)

Need Extra Help?

Contact your GATOR Librarians anytime!

Contact Us →

Nursing Practice Exams

Additional Resources

Career Waves

Databases

Credo Visual Guide

FEATURED CONTENT:

Understanding The Human Body Visual Guide

Smarthinking Tutoring

Nursing Ebooks

NOTE: eBooks listed may be limited to 3-12 users at a time.

eBooks listed with a ^ are available to GATOR Library through the LOUIS Consortium.

eBooks listed with an * require downloading Adobe Editions reader for offline viewing.

Download Adobe Editions here

Procedure for using Adobe Editions

Start Here For Basic Research

Stress Management

•  Stress Management Guide for Healthcare Students - It's easy to get stressed out as a healthcare student. Get advice on how to reduce stress and learn where to turn for help in this EDUMED guide. 

  NTCC Stress Management Guide - Are you feeling stressed and overwhelmed during these unprecedented times with the addition of your upcoming classwork? Check out these free resources to help you be better prepared or to relax & unwind. 

Films on Demand - Check back often - new titles are added frequently

Films on Demand

Films on 'Demand

Films on Demand

Nursing and Allied Health Streaming Video Collection

This collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby. 

Allied Health eTexts

Nursing Diagnosis Guide Cover

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook : An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care

This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2015-2017 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide you in creating unique, individualized care plans.

Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals

Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals

Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is a concise and practical guide to legal and ethical dilemmas facing healthcare professionals in the real-world today. Thoroughly updated and featuring new case studies, this dynamic text will help students to better understand the issues they will face on the job and the implications in the legal arena. With contemporary topics, real-world examples, and accessible language, this comprehensive text offers students an applied perspective and the opportunity to develop critical thinking skills. Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals provides an effective transition from the classroom to the reality of a clinical environment.

Calculating Drug Dosages: A Patient Safe Approach

Calculating Drug Dosages: A Patient Safe Approach

Conquer your fears and understand the most common math concepts used in nursing practice today. Step-by-step guidance shows you how to accurately calculate drug dosages using all four methods.

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses(tm), Fourteenth Edition delivers all of the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan-well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs. Red tab for high alert medications, plus in-depth high alert and patient safety coverage Red , CAPITALIZED letters for life-threatening side effects Drug-drug, drug-food, drug-natural product interactions Pedi, Geri, OB, and Lactation cautions IV Administration subheads REMS Risk

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 23e

Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 23e

Taber’s brings meanings to life.Put the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. Taber’s 23 is the all-in-one, go-to source in the classroom, clinical, and beyond.Under the editorial direction of Donald Venes, MD, MSJ, a team of expert consulting editors and consultants representing nearly every health care profession ensures that the content reflects the most current healthcare information.

In the Know: Nursing Journals