Skip to main content

Natural Sciences: Natural Sciences

Databases

Smarthinking Tutoring

Suggested Readings

Biology 2e

Biology 2e is designed to cover the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester biology course for science majors. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology includes rich features that engage students in scientific inquiry, highlight careers in the biological sciences, and offer everyday applications. The book also includes various types of practice and homework questions that help students understand—and apply—key concepts. The 2nd edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Art and illustrations have been substantially improved, and the textbook features additional assessments and related resources.

Environmental Biology

This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.

Activist Biology: The National Museum, Politics, and Nation Building in Brazil

The Higher Voice of Biology is the story of a group of biologists at the National Museum in Rio de Janeiro who joined the drive to renew the Brazilian nation, claiming as their weapon the voice of their fledgling field. It offers a portrait of science as a creative and transformative pathway. This book will intrigue anyone fascinated by environmental history and Latin American political and social life in the 1920s and 1930s.

Chemistry 2e

Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.

Thermodynamics and Chemistry

Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.

Boranes in Organic Chemistry

The leading researcher in the uses of boranes in organic synthesis here reviews his work over the past thirty-five years, covering such areas as steric strains, the nonclassical ion problem, selective reductions, hydroboration, and the organoboranes as synthetic intermediates. But more than an exposition of enormous accomplishment, the book is a scientific autobiography that will provide chemists with historical perspective on their profession. The author's detailed narrative of his own research experiences not only adds to the understanding of the present state of the study of boranes, but will serve as a stimulus to imaginative research in the future.

Modernist physics : waves, particles, and relativities in the writings of Virginia Woolf and D.H. Lawrence

'Modernist Physics' studies literary texts and scientific ideas in their historical context to provide an original account of the ways in which Virginia Woolf and D.H. Lawrence engaged with the scientific theories, especially those of Albert Einstein.

University Physics Volume 1

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.

University Physics Volume 2

University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.

Start Here For Basic Research

Need Extra Help?

Contact your GATOR Librarians anytime!

Program Locations

Natural Science courses are available at many NTCC campuses, or online, depending on the course. 

Flipster

Browse the full collection of magazine titles