Skip to Main Content

Learning Commons Stats: Learning Commons Facts

This guide displays statistics collected about the GATOR Library of Northshore Technical Community College

Learning Commons Facts

Learning Commons Statistics

The mission of NTCC’s Learning Commons - Powered by GATOR (Global Access to Online Resources) Library is to assist our College in meeting the highest standards of student access to appropriate resources and instruction, as established by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACSCOC), by offering library resources online and through NTCC’s physical library sites.

It is the goal of the Learning Commons to organize these resources and provide opportunities to aid students in the learning process so that they can develop critical thinking skills that enhance their college experience and better prepare them for an ever-expanding global economy.

Established: 2013

Number of Librarians: 5

  • Library Director: Cindy Knight
  • Assistant Director & CTS Campus Librarian: Angie Balius
  • Florida Parishes and Livingston Campus Librarian: Michelle Guidry
  • Lacombe & Sullivan Campus Librarian: Janine Smith
  • Hammond Campus Librarian: Patrick Lonergan

Number of Learning Commons Locations: 6

  • Connect to Success Program - Southeastern Instructional Service Center - Room 222
  • Florida Parishes Campus - Room 157
  • Hammond Campus - Room 211
  • Lacombe Campus - Room 201
  • Livingston Campus - Room 101
  • Sullivan Campus - Rooms 401/505

Accessible Databases: 85

Through membership in the LOUIS Consortium (Louisiana Library Network), which is composed of academic libraries from across the State of Louisiana, NTCC’s Learning Commons is able to purchase subscriptions to electronic resources in support of the College’s mission of “… providing quality workforce training and transfer opportunities by awarding associate degrees, technical diplomas and certificates to students seeking a competitive edge in today’s global economy.” All electronic resources are available to NTCC students through Internet access.  

In addition to providing electronic resources, the library also offers learning opportunities to assist students in obtaining the Information Literacy skills necessary “… to find, retrieve, analyze, and use information” ( which is an integral part of today’s learning process to better prepare students to adapt to ever-changing challenges in the job market as well as in life.

The Northshore Technical Community College Learning Commons resources are available online 24 hours a day and seven days a week with an internet connection through the GATOR Library Website:


Library of the Year Award 2019

Northshore Technical Community College’s GATOR Library was awarded the Library of the Year Award at the LOUIS Users Conference (LUC) 2019 in Baton Rouge on October 16, 2019. Northshore Technical Community’s Chancellor, William S. Wainwright, PhD, attended the ceremony to show his support. The library was given the honor in recognition of its leadership in the State. As one of the first fully online technical and community college libraries, the GATOR Library has been an active participant in the Affordable Learning Louisiana Initiative that promotes reducing student costs of instructional materials through the use of Affordable (AERs) and Open Educational Resources (OERs) and other open access materials in place of traditional resources. Our librarians strive to explore new initiatives and are always willing to collaborate with LOUIS, LCTCS (Louisiana’s Community and Technical Colleges), and other academic communities across the State. Their partnership with NTCC’s OER faculty champions resulted in over $107,000 in student savings in 2018-2019 at Northshore.  GATOR Library recently rebranded itself to the Learning Commons – Powered by GATOR Library, as the library continually strives to meet the needs of teaching and learning in its college community.

L to R – Tim Stamm, Chair - LOUIS Executive Board; Margaret Keller, NTCC Library Director; Cindy Knight, NTCC Asst. Library Director; NTCC Librarian Michelle Guidry; Teri Oaks Gallaway, Associate Commissioner for LOUIS; Megan Lowe and Debbie Johnson-Houston, LOUIS Executive Board members.