Skip to Main Content

Faculty Page: Faculty Guide


Important Announcements

Fall 2021 textbooks are now available, visit the Online Gator Bookstore.

Questions? Ask a Librarian.


Teaching & Learning Center

Career Waves

Credo InfoLit

credo infor lit

Check out our Credo InfoLit Modules page for videos, tutorials, and more on Information Literacy!

https://libguides.northshorecollege.edu/credoinfolit

Instructor Tutoring Session Report

Library FAQ

Where are all the books? The library subscribes to over 85 different databases that give our faculty, staff, and students access to over 160,000 eBooks and millions of journal articles. Use the "Don't Google it, GATOR it" search box on the homepage to search the library's catalog. 
Can I access the library resources off-campus? Absolutely. To do so, you will be prompted to authenticate before accessing materials using your LoLA username and date of birth.
Can I request materials for the library to acquire? Yes! Simply fill out the materials request form and the library staff will review it!
How can I find resources outside of NTCC? You can search WorldCat to locate outside sources.   
Where can I access more information about Open Educational Resources?
GATOR Librarians have put together an OER guide. There are repositories, Creative Commons information, and general OER information available on the page. 

Faculty Onboarding Guide

Check out the Learning Common's Onboarding guide to see how the library can enrich your course and serve your students!

Search For Information

Don't Google it, GATOR it!

Popular Databases or Collections:
View All Databases:
Browse the full collection of magazine titles

Search e-journals

 

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

 

The Librarians

The Librarians

                         cynthia knight

Cynthia Knight, MLIS

Director of Library Services

Lacombe Campus

985-545-1265

Melissa Templeton, MLIS

Assistant Director of Library Services

Hammond/CTS Campuses

985-545-1518

michelle guidry

Michelle Guidry, MLIS

Web Manager Librarian

Livingston/FP Campuses

985-545-1740


Book a Librarian

Use the below forms to request a librarian in your class to give students instruction on library services, electronic resources, and information literacy. If the request is for a virtual meeting, feel free to book any of the librarians!

Campus Librarian
Connect to Success Melissa Templeton
Florida Parishes Campus Michelle Guidry
Hammond Area Campus Melissa Templeton
Lacombe Main Campus Cynthia Knight
Livingston Campus Michelle Guidry
Sullivan Campus  Cynthia Knight

 

Research Resources

Smarthinking Tutoring

Smarthinking Tutoring

Smarthinking is a 24/7 online tutoring center that provides a writing center, study aids, and live online tutoring. Students can access homework support as well as math and writing help. Users will log in with their NTCC email credentials.

Check out this video made for Faculty on Smarthinking.

Prep Step

PrepStep for Colleges (Formerly LearningExpress)

Basic skills improvement in reading, writing, math, and basic sciences and test preparation for academic and career testing features a new tutorial and test-preparation platform.

Credo Reference

Credo Academic Core

Literati Academic is a library teaching tool and online research platform that provides top quality reference sources paired with point-of-need instruction.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand

This collection will help prepare future allied health professionals for practice across a diverse range of health care settings, whether they are learning how to draw blood, administer medications, or help deliver a baby. The videos include titles from trusted producers such as Elsevier, NEVCO, Center for Phlebotomy Education, Classroom Productions, InJoy Health Education, and others.