Agriculture & Food Science in Credo: Books

Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.

Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.

Gives short definitions of terms, many of non-English origin, so that the chef and the amateur enthusiast, the gastronome and the student may quickly determine the meaning.

A-to-Z entries describing foods, cooking techniques, herbs, spices, desserts, wines, and the ingredients for pleasurable dining.

Based on Barron's popular and authoritative The New Food Lover's Companion, this enlarged and enhanced new reference volume was written for discerning home chefs and everybody else who wants to become more knowledgeable about good food and elegant dining. The updated version includes an introduction, quotes, tip boxes, information on basic techniques, tools and expanded glossaries that explain the many variations of apples, sausages, cheeses and so on.

Arranged alphabetically, this guide contains comprehensive definitions for wine related terms.

First published in 1983, John Mariani's Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink has long been the go-to book on all things culinary. In addition to updates on food trends and other changes to American gastronomy since 1999, for the first time the Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink will include biographical entries, both historical and contemporary, from Fanny Farmer and Julia Child to the Galloping Gourmet and James Beard to current high-profile players Mario Batali and Danny Meyer, among more than one hundred others.

An easy-to-use reference source covering the full range of subject areas associated with plant pathology.

A comprehensive survey of all pests likely to be encountered in North America.

A comprehensive listing of the plants found in Australian gardens, including native trees, shrubs and climbers, as well as those introduced from other parts of the world.

This 3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science, covering important methods, practices and ideas in this growing discipline

Nutrition for Life has been designed to help you to think seriously about your diet and lifestyle in an easy and enjoyable way. Whether you are single, married, have young or older children, are healthy, or suffer from a chronic medical condition, you will gain short-term and long-term health benefits from reading this guide and by putting into effect the advice it contains.